Fed

Last night I had the luxury of having a wonderful visitor. It was just a nice one on one where I didn’t have to share nor offend other ears or hearts. I wish it involved a little more baseball, but the Reds played an early game. Oh well. We were still rather distracted, my bad, of having some TV on which likely muted the potential conversation, but the company was welcomed nonetheless.

One of the conversations I brought up was about how I used to be radio fed back in the 80’s and 90’s. It got so bad that at point, ‘the radio’, that I began settling to listening to an “80’s” station (this was like 98-99). Here I was about to be stuck in a decade for the rest of my life like others being stuck in the 50’s, 60′, 70’s, etc. Now granted I still love re-visiting the 80’s genre from time to time. It reminds me of a simpler time, and an even more difficult time when I wanted to be immersed in it instead of being forced into religion. It was my getaway when ever I could get away from the grips of the indoctrination. It was never easy.

I will still never forget  a defining moment when I was living in Fort Wayne when an alternative radio station began playing a lot of Radiohead, Doves, Travis, and other seemingly heavy amounts of new British invasion bands that I began to enjoy music again. Also, internet radio came into being as well. The next thing you know I was no longer being radio fed. I began recognizing local musicians/bands. I wanted to be more of a part of that and I did. I realized we are surrounded by the same quality of music, and can become your peers, and you don’t have to submit to the commercial gods telling you 10-20+ times what you think you like a/k/a brainwashing.

The same thing realization has come to TV. I’ve become horribly TV fed in the past few years and man am I hungover. I’ve been TV fed mostly by MSNBC for a long time and with Comcast buying out NBC/Universal the journalists have had to fall in line or fall out. I’ve been forced to watch SNL clips and Fallon clips, or worse Today clips and Today Show throwaways I couldn’t escape (if I wanted to watch that crap, I would). The smartest shows and journalists in the business had to protect their jobs over journalistic merit.

Your vote that you so sorely think has/had merit was not picked by you. It was picked by the media who told you who they were picking for their profits/ratings. They will do it again in the fall. Your fear candidates have emerged once again. And you wonder why you’re unhappy, again.

I’ve had to find alternatives, some I have to re-visit once again, like RT that are not beholden to the corporations and their gross negligence (I have to watch online now since my cable provider doesn’t provide the option). I’ve been listening to a lot of music again and find myself writing more. TV sucks, but the tiny bit offered that I want/need requires me to buy the whole shebang. It’s not fair.

But nothing in life is fair. Fall in or fall out. I’d rather be out.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on June 12, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

