Patio fury

I’m quite certain this is my first post from my patio despite being here for three weeks. Most of my time out here has been putting a little patio garden together. My hopes is I suppose is it’ll be more inviting once everything is blooming in a month or so. I’m happy to report that after a week or so of toiling with the dirt I have sprouts!

IMG_6402

This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time, but I don’t having a personal patio or porch to work with since I had the bug (for a good 15 years). I opted to get creative and use containers I had sitting around plus I didn’t have a lot of space to get in the way of chairs upon getting outdoor visitors. Other than a little paint and time it’s all set. Over excited.

Aside from my trip to Indy and Milwaukee over the weekend in which I got to hang with a few friends, my streak with my family visiting continues again with the highlight being my nieces and nephew. My weather has stunk this week, but it’s still nice for them to cozy in to do their homework after school, play cards, and share some ice cream. They will be out of school in a couple of weeks so hopefully they’ll get to have some longer visits and we can get more serious about playing more baseball.

My health transitions to Batesville is a bit closer to completion. I met with the local oncologist on Monday and his staff who were outstanding and up on all the new treatments available to me which is vitally important now being my tumor markers have trended up long enough where it’s becoming more clear that the drugs that have served me for the past 17 months are no longer being effective. Therefore I have a CT scan scheduled in the upcoming weeks and will likely (fortunately) have a different drug regimen beginning on the next cycle. My team at UC will make that call and I hope to begin that next month. I’ll only get 2 of the 3 parts available for toxicity purposes and hopefully I respond to it because otherwise my only option left will likely involve traveling afar for clinical trials.

My first chemo treatment in Batesville was administered yesterday and all went pretty smoothly. I had to update them on what UC did as far as preps and deal with some slight differences in their protocols. One of the few highlights was the social services person there is my classmate who I possibly haven’t seen since graduation. She was so sweet and we chatted while I was in the chair for the last 30 minutes or so of my treatment. She also had her own personal bout with cancer in the past decade so she has a better understanding of the emotions. Also my bro-in-law joined me in my beautiful, cozy, space that has a, get this, widow seat! I don’t even need to sit in the chair. I can sit in the window for my treatment. I didn’t find this out until it was almost over. Another added bonus is I can have more than one guest! That was a unfortunate hard and fast rule when my dad and/or sisters visited me at the same time. They had to take turns.

IMG_6443

I did find out this morning is Batesville does have a CT scanner at the main hospital, so I may end up getting here and saving a trip to Cincy unless there is concern about slight differences in machines between facilities. Either way in the future it’ll be nice to have that option. They have it all here! 🙂

Now that I’ve tinkered long enough with transitions and getting my apartment just so I’ll say it again, but I hope to get back to more writing. It’s been a crazy couple of months. It looks to be settling down a bit. Tonight though I’m excited about hanging with another high school classmate for a trip to Metamora for dinner and music, and then back to Batesville to see a local band. A carnival is town too. Just as I was writing I just made lunch plans with my sister. Boom! This rocks!

Oh, and my hard travel plans have been on hold. I had an unexpected setback yesterday, but it’s just going to delay things a bit. I plan on making my Big West trip in late June instead of making the Alaska solstice trip. Then I’m moving the Alaska trip to late July when I’ll get a tiny less daylight, but apparently less/no mosquitoes. Yes, Alaska has a mosquito problem in ‘mid summer’. If that all goes well I’ll be at 49 states!

Ok, I’s got to go. Thanks for reading and checking back. Don’t forget to look at the calendar in case I’m in your neighborhood. I’ll be in Madison, IN next weekend for the River Roots Festival. Fun fun!

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on May 13, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

