Batesville

Where to begin….

I spent the better part of my first few days after my move at either my dad’s or sister’s house while my box fort sat idle for most of the weekend. It was necessary though as I was worn out after the move on Thursday. I didn’t get a lot of time to recover though over the weekend as one of my main motives for moving to Batesville was spending more time with my nieces and nephew. Already by Satturday the joined me for a bit while I mushroom hunted, and then we spent at least two hours playing baseball in which I must have thrown 200 or more pitches. I enjoyed nearly every minute of hit despite getting hit by three line drives. Ouchie.

Already the ease of being able to walk to the library, liquor store, restaurants, and more along family and friends just being able to drop by and/or give me a ride is great. The days of anonymity is over though. Yesterday for example I just went across the road to pickup a pizza and a high school classmate was there doing the same. I’m certain that will happen almost daily now.

My new apartment is huge and I think has more storage than I’ve ever had access to. Go figure since I purged like six 30 gallon trash cans worth of stuff before departing Cincy. I still should go through the boxes again and do a second purge. I still rather not have a ton of stuff to move if/when I can’t.

It’ll still be a little time I think before I get back into the groove of writing. For one, my nieces and nephew already are stopping by after to school to play baseball. It’s a good thing I finally got some decent sleep last night as I’ve been so tired. I’ve had no downtime and didn’t sleep in my own bed for three nights. I’m pretty close now to getting settled back in. I’m still trying to locate some things.

Currently I’m enjoying the patio. I have a lot of natural light, but the breeze adds so much to the comfort of the spot. The grass was just mowed this morning too so that’s another plus. I may have had a rooftop patio overlooking downtown Cincinnati, but there is still something about having grass and bushes at your footsteps. I’m going to be spending a lot of time out here. 🙂

The biggest transition now is getting my treatments moved to Batesville and working out all the other details with that. The ball is supposedly rolling, but I haven’t heard much in a few days so I’ll be dealing with that in the meantime. Yes, it’s always something, but that’s life, right?

So that’s where I am right now. I keep forgetting I have a new book to read so I may try to get back to it before school lets out. What a great feeling.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on April 25, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I so love reading you posts on here and love seeing the pics of your nieces and nephew on FB. I think you will really enjoy this new adjustment! Family is everything! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

