The slacking

The daily blog hath turned into a long absence. There are many factors contributing to this, mostly malaise, but some travel does the body good. And my trip to DC has opened that flow again. It’s hard to stop the feelings when you are met by so many beautiful views and moments along the way.

Today I finally made that pilgrimage to the Capitol to see the legendary cherry blossoms. After painstaking planning to try and hit the full bloom and the weather in perfect time I succeeded. Less some clouds I hit peak bloom! If I had gone the previous week not only had only a few trees been in bloom, but my trip to Shenandoah National Park would have been thwarted by snow! 3-6 inches of it.

The memorials (Lincoln, FDR, MLK, Jefferson) are still the best part of the visit to DC, but wow, to add the blooms increases the visit exponentially. Other than that I took the rather boring Capitol tour (I would prefer a more thorough tour of the building instead of TMI of three rooms). Still, it’s the center of who we are. That still resonates at least with me.

I’m in the middle of my trip in a rather remote part of Virginia along theĀ Appalachian Trail. I celebrated a bit by grabbing some craft beer and BBQ from the next town over and watched the sunset from the rocky overlook nearby. I checked in early for once and I’m just trying to collect myself after what has been a seemingly long number of weeks dealing with both medical and logistical transitions. Not working seems easy. Trying to keep your shortened ‘termed’ life in between the gutters is a much greater challenge. It fucking sucks to be blunt.

Soon if all goes well, and I’m sure it will, I’ll be living in a new place with new excitement and as always posing new challenges.

I’ll leave with this in regards to challenges. Regardless of the choices and changes we make no matter for better of worse challenges always follow. They may be different from the previous set, but they will be there. Take them, shape them, and face them. There are more around the corner. That’s life. Enjoy it while you can.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on March 25, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great update! I’m vicariously enjoying your trip!

Leave a Reply

