Hooray for steroids

Even though I slept a good part of the evening after I returned from chemo yesterday I was able to stay up till past 2AM this morning and was awake at 5:30 then up by 7. After being mostly away from them in the past two weeks it was a welcome return to feeling a bit more human again. You may ask if they help me so much why don’t I take them daily? – well the warning is an excess of the steroid could lead to pre-mature cataracts so I willingly follow my doctor’s orders even if I’m tired/fatigued during that time.

Another update, even though my hemoglobin levels didn’t rebound in the past two weeks, I wasn’t given either a transfusion or the ‘risky’ hormone shot yesterday. I was surprised, but grateful that I went another week avoiding that. Will next week bring me closer to that threshold, possibly, but my treatment regiment continues to surprise me so I try not to jump to conclusions anymore therefore less worrying on my part.

Which leads me to another number, my cancer marker test, did jump out of the normal range for the second time in the past few months, and to its highest number in almost a year. The last time it went out of range (37 is high normal) it was 39 but dropped back under 37. Now it’s up to 47. Perhaps missing a treatment gave it an opportunity to escalate a bit. So hopefully a full treatment cycle this month will tame it back down. If not, well we will worry about it if like my doctor; says “begins to trend”.

On a lighter note, though with a sense of urgency, the forecast for the cherry blossoms in DC blooming was moved up two weeks! If that trend sticks they will be in full bloom next weekend instead of the end of the month as earlier anticipated being it hit the 80’s this week. In the meantime I’ll have to keep a closer eye on not only the blooming forecast, but weather forecast. Unfortunately now I can’t go middle of the week because of the treatments, but will likely have to make a last minute decision to get a car rented, hostels reserved, and roll east.

Another development after reviewing some of the national parks I was looking to visit later this Spring, including Alaska, is it turns out my disability status comes with perks – free national parks admission! I picked up my Access Pass the other day so I’ll be visiting the Antietam battlefield on the way to DC, and Shenandoah National Park on the rebound. Then, of course, I’ll have a virtual national parks buffet once I go out west and to Alaska. That’ll save me some dough and keep me on my toes on that trip.

So my writing bug feels in full swing this morning so hopefully I’ll take advantage of that later. Just writing this blog post this early is a good sign.

Wish me luck!

[On edit]: I finally dropped about 2,000 words this morning for my book after a long hiatus giving me about a 14,000+ word total thus far.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on March 10, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

