“little book”

Yesterday I referred to a “little book” that was giving me fits to finish. I’m trying again today. That book is Tuesdays With Morrie that cousin Bill generously lent me on my last visit to Indy. I had heard of and been recommended the book on a number of occasions, but have perhaps been reluctant to read it. It is indeed a quick read for most, but each short chapter is just chock full of so many lessons and heartbreak. It’s like looking in the mirror when reading it. You know how hard that can be on some days where it seems like that everyday for me.

One quote resonates more than any other in the book which reminds me of a Wilco song, War on War:

Morrie’s quote:

When you learn how to die, you learn how to live.

Wilco’s take:

You have to lose
You have to learn how to die
If you want to want to be alive

You have to die
You have to die
You have to learn how to die
If you want to want to be alive, okay?

I wonder if Jeff Tweedy was inspired by/read this book.

Onward as I finally pulled myself from my apartment today first to getaway to the library before I head out to a show tonight I read another excerpt that shook me again and wanted to share:

[I]f aging were so valuable, why do people always say, “Oh, if I were young again.” You never hear people say, “I wish I were sixty-five.”

He (Morrie) smiled. “You know what that reflects? Unsatisfied lives. Unfulfilled lives. Lives that haven’t found meaning. Because if you’ve found meaning in your life, you don’t want to go back. You want to go forward. You want to see more, do more. You can’t wait until sixty-five.

I think everything I’ve tried to say and do in the past 15 months was pretty much wrapped up in that excerpt or even really in that in those last two lines – “You want to see more, do more. You can’t wait until sixty-five.”

I rest my case for today.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on February 27, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

