Cherry blossoms

A couple blogs back I wrote about The Presidents documentary that I did watch in its entirety over the weekend. It was a nice review and I learned a lot about our past which of course got me in the itch to go back to Washington, for really, a second time. My New England trip which was supposed to include an evening/morning in DC never materialized. The only thing about DC I really got to experience was the gridlock getting out on my way to NYC on day one. What a mess.

I was planning to adhere to no more repeat trips until I got through the 50 state list, but the cherry blossoms which are likely about a month out got to me for a couple of reasons. One, I still want that day back I lost in DC to the spectacle of the monuments and history that the city provides. But the other  reason is for my mom who always wanted to take the trip to see them, but never did. Some years back mom & dad did reserve a bus trip to DC to see the blossoms, but the tour got cancelled. It wasn’t long after that mom’s health went into decline.

Since it’s hard to predict because of the weather when they will actually bloom I’m not going to fly, and I’ve come to hate airports anyhow, I figure I can drove out and back in 3 days including a stop in Shenandoah National Park on the return. Maybe this will hold me till June when I head out West again. It seems so far away at the moment.

I’ve had weird food cravings driving me over the past few days, and perhaps it’s trying to cover up the travel cravings that have been driving me over the past year. I need more. My need to explore and see beyond my daily environment seems as important as my chemo. What a good addiction to have I suppose.

So, another journey on the horizon. Looking forward to taking you all with me.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on February 23, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

