Rough

It was only recently that I learned how much of an effect the steroids I’m prescribed help me. The ‘chemo crashes’ I experienced a few months ago was because of the lack thereof of taking them. Once I put them back in my regimen I wanted to take them everyday, but cataracts are a common side effect to these steroids, so ‘only take them when you need them’ was the doctor’s order. I’m given them on the day of chemo, and was prescribed to take two the following two days. They kept me too awake though, so I spread them out a little and only take one a day for 4 days, or usually 3 days. But then I’m pretty much a slumbering blubbering mess Sunday through Tuesday. Yesterday I slept nearly the entire day aside from finding the strength to take a walk for some lunch in the snow then fog yesterday afternoon. Then it was back to sleep. I didn’t get out of bed till almost 11 this morning. I was awake, was on the verge of getting out of bed for breakfast a few times, but then, BAM, I went to sleep for another couple of hours.

The fatigue is still there. It’s only manageable when I have the drugs to raise me out of it.

So basically I’ve just delayed the chemo crashes from a day or two after to nearly a week after. There are no any less fun. We all wish for more sleep, I could stand to have a little less.

Writing is still coming easy when I am awake at least. The book may not get attention everyday, but it has come out when it feels right. I’ve come to know and understand I can’t force it. And I won’t.

Chemo returns tomorrow and I’ll just start this cycle all over again. It certainly makes seemingly long weeks ahead go incredibly fast. My, we’re already 45+ days into this year, not that I’m complaining! 🙂

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on February 16, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

