Delirious-ly

My feet are up in a cozy guest house about 20 yards from the parade route in Lafayette Lou. The host just assured me it probably won’t go by for another hour. I should take a power nap as I’m running on somewhere between 1.5-2.5 hours sleep as my computer clock and reality clock have been messing with my head. Either way, sleep is not why you go on vacation unless it is something you medically need. So I write while I wait.

I smiled a lot today. I feel love today. I feel so lucky in love I guess. Things that I’ve only seen in maps and in other’s stories come true on these trips, and now I own them. That is a fortune you can’t understand when you seem stifled your whole life. It’s weird how it takes getting punched in the gut literally to figure it out that time waits for nobody. Time owns you if you let it, and trust me it is a lot better when you OWN time.

I’ve doubled my state total in less than a year. I’m not dead yet.

This morning I not only had my tourist stop at Cafe du Monde, but took it a step further and sat on a bench looking over the Mississippi River with the sun slightly brushing its rays across the waves. And people walked, ran, and biked by with smiles on their faces to match mine. It was GLORIOUS.

Leaving New Orleans was difficult. As the hotel clerk told some guests while I was waiting to check out is many come here and never leave they love it so much. I get that feeling too. I seriously would if I could. I guess I could, but anywhere alive is alright by me.

My drive felt odd (and I took an intentional long detour) to leave a big city for the smaller Lafayette, but I think about leaving Milwaukee to go to Green Bay to see the Packers. Milwaukee might have the might, but Green Bay has the prize. I have a feeling Lafayette will offer the same.

This night has already had an epic beginning. I’m just not sure if it will be an epic success or epic failure, but it will be epic either way.

Then I awake in the morn and head to Nashville. 10 hours to Music City.

Take that cancer.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on January 30, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

