Reevaluating

So I felt so accomplished the first few attempts of writing a book, and then, just like with every valiant attempt in life, you step back and realize you don’t know anything about writing a book. Yes the story is real, it flows so easily from my soul into the digital characters saved to my machine. But even though I didn’t want to be influenced by others’ work or follow accepted ‘structure’, simply wanting to have it just come together in my way is not a good path.

There is nothing wrong with what I have written so far, and properly tying it all together and editing will come later to smooth it out. But keeping it relevant and on purpose is a must, and I will need to think about that aspect more as I go forward. Stopping to contemplate this was already happening, but when I read the following article it reinforced the reason that just simply purging my emotions into a book was not the best concept.

Brain Pickings

It’s like stitching together a quilt, creating order that isn’t chronological order — it’s emotional, psychological order.

I will say that the emotional and psychological order are coming along nicely.

With my upcoming trip I hope to find the inspiration, and break, I need to figure out what my next step is before writing another chapter. But still. I will not write “unless it comes out your soul; like a rocket”.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on January 27, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

