A Little Christmas Story

My blustery abbreviated morning in Manhattan last fall was exhilarating despite the cold that had set inside me. I still wanted more though as I walked back from the harbor back to my hotel. I needed to get my car moved before the street was cleaned, and I still had great hopes of visiting Midtown again to see Central Park and a few other sites.

But someone was hoping I would make other plans, and by time the cold had crept into my bones, getting out of Manhattan became the goal.

Again, just like entering the majestic city the night before, finding my way out seemed like an arduous adventure. I still had a long way to go though to get to my New England destinations, but as my journeys this past year has went, visiting people from your past perhaps one last time becomes a priority.

Erach is my sister’s brother-in-law. We had only met once before at my sister’s wedding over 10 years ago. Initially I had hoped to visit with him in NYC, but he had recently moved his family to the wilderness of Connecticut just weeks before I made my trip. He wanted to meet for lunch. I gave him an ETA via Google even though I was exiting out on metropolitan parkways I had never driven before. Both him and Google agreed it would take me 90 minutes. I told him to give me 2 hours.

Have a ever mentioned I’m an excellent driver?

I owned my way out of NYC and through those parkways to Connecticut, and before you know it, 5 minutes early, I was at the exit where we were to meet for this amazing regional pizza. With time to spare I got some full-serve gas and settled into the pizza place while he caught up. I had time to gather myself, drink a few pops, and review the menu a little before he arrived.

Now I was running on empty at this point, delirious probably. Erach finally showed up with kids in tow and we started talking non-stop. I did ask briefly what he recommended on the menu from experience, but upon further review, which was just ended up being the first three items on the toppings list, was sausage, bacon, and ham. I didn’t really need nor want these heavy meat toppings, it just seemed simple. Given the giant pizza we ordered I’m sure it got a little pricy.

The pizza was piping hot and huge, but in the end the biggest, best, pizza in the world couldn’t top the visit we had despite it being too short. It’s been a pleasure knowing the Screwvala family, and having a moment with the hardest one to visit was a joy.

Erach paid for that big ol’ pizza with all those meaty toppings. As I got back on my way through the rainy NE coastline I felt kinda guilty about it even though I’m sure it kept me fueled till I got to Maine.

So, as a small token of my appreciation, I sent him a gift for Christmas. I ordered Christmas Vacation moose mugs for the whole family this year after my sister had sent me one a few weeks ago. I ordered a set of ten and had one leftover. I sent it to Cleveland (his hometown) for Erach.

Erach, I hope you don’t wake up with your head sewn to the carpet, or your brother leaves you out in the middle of nowhere left for dead even though he always has that look in his eyes. 😉

Thank you, and Merry Christmas, friend.

 

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 27, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Enjoyed your Christmas story. You have touched a lot people’s hearts.You are such a good story writer and I am sure you could write a book!

Leave a Reply

