In the glow

Beginning this post at 1:30AM on Christmas Day as I’m sitting in one of the easy chairs at home in the light of the tree with the obligatory The Christmas Story beginning its seasonal marathon. How sweet; yet it’s an intermission.

“Are you coming over in the morning to open presents?”, asked my nieces and nephew. A new tradition was apparently made last year when I headed down the road to my sister’s house to join their Christmas morning tradition. The night before I had delivered those kids the blow regarding my diagnosis and left them with the memories of Rudolph and gifts in the only way I could say it’ll be alright.

So after spending another Christmas Eve with them, and finally taking a long nap, I’m up in a way to wind down to enjoy the glow and get the party started in the morning. After that, waffles will be made then I’m certain all the food along with cheese ball, cookies galore, and some alcohol (and eggnog with moose mugs!!) will be begin flowing. Wrapping paper will tear, smiles will appear, and we will listen to songs about reindeer.

Overall this isn’t much different from any other year or other families traditions, but it’s all mine again for another year and that’s the best present I could ask for. Merry Christmas!

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 25, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Merry Christmas from all of us!

Leave a Reply

