Feeling accomplished

Lots of feelings this week per my titles. Despite the anxiety of the cancer likely rebounding, this has been an easy week considering all I had to get done. It helped tremendously that I got to relax yesterday instead of losing it to sleep. I needed it to clear my mind and get some necessary things done I likely would have just ignored. It’s easier to stay calm when your list is shorter.

Presents were delivered, picked carefully, wrapped almost meticulously (for my novice expertise), and somehow made it to the tree at home today without much of a grumble or worse. My mood is striking considering the circumstances.

On the way home I stopped at The Village Store to say hello to my sister and a few of the other employees who I’ve known for years. Many have been down there for 20+ years. One in particular, Dan, had just gotten out of the hospital so he could relate to having a bit of a scare and dealing with missing and recovering to get back to work. When he had heard about my likely cancer rebound he really said it best; “at least you have had the time to do what you wanted to do”. And that in a nutshell is what I submitted earlier this week for a guest blog is about dying with less regrets.

I won’t know for sure until I get my CT scan next week and evaluated before I dip too much into the abyss again, but until then I will be celebrating an unexpected Christmas and on the cusp of another New Year. Not bad considering I initially was given 4-6 months to live 12 months ago.

I’m really grateful for all that has been given to me this year in all forms of support. On this Christmas Eve, it humbles me that I’m so deserving of it and I wish everyone along the way all the blessings you’ve given me in return even if it’s just fighting to wish you the same this time next year. That’s the best present I can think of for me and all my readers.

Thank you!

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 24, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jeff, it is just as much of a blessing to all of us that you are still around and active one year later. Thank you for sharing your journey with us through this blog. You are a true inspiration to us and your writing gives a us an intimate view of all you are going through. Keep positive and know that all of us, even those who don’t speak up nearly enough, are still very much behind you. You’ve got this.:) Have a Merry Christmas, buddy.

  2. Enjoy your time this weekend with your family!

Leave a Reply

