Feeling Festive

It’s really not normal for me to feel festive. I’d say most years I favor the grinches and the bah-humbuggers more than holly jolly crowd, but this year of course I have lots to be thankful for. For one, I’m still here!!, and second my well really is full. I have received so much generosity this year from family and friends that how could I not be thankful in this time. And it just keeps coming.

Today I find myself in the Franklin County winter wonderland of Metamora to pick up a few things and sit in the glow of the Smelly Gourmet again. The smile on their faces, especially Brenda’s, was well worth the trip to come out for a visit.

No parties or any holiday activities brought me out this weekend. The original idea was to head up to Indy for a few visits, which is still possible depending on how the weekend rolls, or just simply share some soup and maybe some drinks with the family. Just being here is what counts.

I went as far as putting up some lights in my apartment this year which hasn’t happened in well over a decade, and shopping suddenly seems fun again, and not a tedious obligatory job. I’m still at odds what to get gift wise yet for some so I’m stressin’ (a little).

Whether it be some local wine, a mix of bourbon, a hot soup, a warm cappuccino, a hearty laugh, or a bear hug; Christmas to me is about sharing, not as much as giving. I can’t wait for the day this year. It’s going to be fun, or at least as much fun as you put into it if you expect it to give back.

Christmas to put it bluntly was pretty awful last year. There will still be an emptiness that can’t be ignored, but we will still celebrate what we have and given to us in the past. Memories can’t be extinguished, and more are to be made. It’s the one gift that will keep on giving.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 19, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. enjoy reading your daily gallery, Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

