The Chemo Crash

So apparently the new normal with my chemo treatment is the ‘crash’ that happens about 2 days later. I just came out of it about an hour ago after it starting setting in over 24 hours ago. In between, just lots of sleep.

It starts off with my brain getting fuzzy, where I can’t concentrate on anything; just kind of in a daze. Then I start physically start slowing down (for example walking becomes slow if I happen to be out). Finally it’s surrendering to bed which generally lasts about 24 hours. Other than being up for about an hour last night to get some fluids (I get very dehydrated too) it was a tossing and turning mostly unpleasant sleep.

Then I wake up with a wicked headache.

I was really hoping that the extra rest would help with this crash and/or make it shorter, but it appears not.

The good news after looking at the calendar is I should be through the crash in a couple weeks to celebrate New Years. I missed my first treatment back during Thanksgiving week because they didn’t want to the treatment/crash to ruin my holiday. I think or hope it’s manageable timing wise now (predictable).

So, off to shake this thing off and get on with the rest of my week. I’m hoping to at least go back  ‘home’ this weekend and maybe beyond if I’m feeling up to it. Besides, I’m craving a Smelly cappuccino.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 17, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

