Cumulative

My busy day has delayed the normal late morning blog posting. This is because I got to slumber at my dad’s until I absolutely needed to leave, drive to Cincy, return car, catch bus, shower/change, catch bus, and then get my labs in preparation for my doctor follow-up and chemo treatments.

I had a lot of intermittent waiting today, but once I finally settled into my treatment it was nappy time.

My more frequent follow-ups is from a number of complications that have developed, the biggest being this chemo ‘crash’ that has been occurring over the past couple of cycles. The ‘long of the short of it’ is my chemo is ‘cumulative’; ‘it’ accumulating in my system after a YEAR now of treatments. So it’s likely not to go away, and get worse I suppose.

Sleeping is so normal now. Good sleep, long sleep, off and on sleep, miss parts of the Packers game sleep, and perhaps that elusive too much sleep.

This I feel is a need now to heal to just honor my body and let it sleep if that’s what it wants, but at some point I will have to find a pattern or some control of said pattern. My new found time is important and though healing is a priority, I must not squander my need to still see and do some new things. Just like everything else, it’s a delicate balance.

My blood pressure was a little down today, and I was also assured my heart ‘looked good’. I will have a scan in a few weeks, but in the meantime they think some of the cardiac responses I’ve had are maybe anemic related which is common with chemo treatments. Fair enough.

Having those questions and getting those answers is so important to the mental game of this journey. I’m still grateful for my team sending me home with more confidence than I walked in with about my dilemma.

Onward.

 

 

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 14, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

