No pain

I hope to have a bigger and clearer update for everyone by Monday evening or Tuesday regarding some issues I’ve been experiencing of late. I do have another doctor follow-up (the 3rd this month) and chemo tomorrow if all goes as planned. I’ve updated everyone I’ve seen in person in the past few days about one of many developments; this one actually being a small but significant one – I’m off my pain medication!

Pretty much since a week or two since I was diagnosed I’ve been on a daily pain medication for the tumor pressing on the nerves in and around my pancreas. As the good news has progressed in the past year I got brave once in awhile and checked to see if the pain subsided. Every time after about 18 hours after stopping the meds I would start hurting, so back on the meds I would go.

The last time I attempted this was probably back in July and the same ol’ scenario I started hurting again. It was futile. I was going to be on these meds forever.

To note it was months after I started these meds that I happen to learn that drinking and these meds could cease my respiratory system so I ended up being a lot more careful about drinking, mostly abstaining completely, over the past few months. Thanksgiving day I was wanting wine with my dinner so i opted to skip my pill that morning and later thought I hadn’t tested my pain in awhile so I opted to see how long I could go without. Well, as of 4 days later I still have no pain!

Fortunately, as someone brought to my attention today, I’m not addicted either. I’ve been fine without and unless the doctors advise me otherwise tomorrow I’m off pain meds!

It’s crazy. A year ago I was in so much pain I couldn’t sleep. Now I seem to be sleeping all the time, but I find this utterly amazing.

Hope to share some more good news tomorrow and perhaps more later this week. Till then, stay tuned!

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on November 29, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

