Portland night 1 – short & sweet

My commute to downtown Portland almost went without a hitch. I had to run down my connecting bus, but I got to the pizza place / music venue in time to settle down and eat and get a song in. I waited nearly 90 minutes for my turn, which is fine, but even though I still had the energy I doubted I was either A) not going to have it in another 90+ minutes, and B) I wanted to be certain I didn’t miss the boat getting back to the hotel (not sure how long transit runs). 

The crowd was very welcoming and fun, and I nailed my song. There was a group from Columbus OH there that I spoke with briefly before I left. I made a good impression. 

As I walked to the nearest bus stop it turned out I was standing next to one of the many craft breweries here. The old me would have stopped in to try the beers regardless of time. But, it seems the more recent me isn’t all interested in beer anymore. I’ll divulge into later. 

It’s well after 11pm Pacific time. I figure by time I get settled into my room and asleep it’ll be nearly 24 hours since I woke up this morning. Other than a few short naps on the plane I’m doing well. 

I’m going to see what kind of coffee and scenery Portland has to offer come daylight. 

Till then, good night, er, good morning for most of you. 

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on September 12, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

