Day 2: Not quite Route 66

Mountain time in the San Juan mountains, 7am. Unbeknownst to me it would be daylight already. Not just dawn, but full on daylight. As I awoke in Durango I opted not to get in too much of a scurry given the advice I received to ‘slow down’. Besides, though I wanted to experience Durango a bit the night before and couldn’t because of the flight delay, I opted to at least get a hearty breakfast before heading to Four Corners and the Grand Canyon. I opted to get my breakfast advice from Yelp to head to a little greasy spoon called Oscar’s. It was quite the pleasant experience, and the french toast was indeed worth the stop. Some more protein and caffeine and I was almost on my way. In the shopping center there was a grocery store which fell into my strategic plan to make sure I had some water in the car before I got to the desert. Never know when you could get lost in the desert ya know. Strangely enough the City Market was owned by all places Cincinnati’s very own Kroger. Yep, I felt right at home buying Kroger water to take to the desert.

Also during the night it snowed. About 2 inches I would guess. I actually had to brush it off the car before I took off. It was also nicely settled on the mountains for my viewing pleasure. Nothing on the roads once again too. The perfect snow.

IMG_3153

Hwy 160 near Mancos, CO

The weather was once again spectacular. Nothing but some wispy cirrus clouds and some fog up high in the mountains. I couldn’t but help to continue to snap picture after picture from the car. My anticipation was building though to reach the Four corners monument.

Hwy 160 near Cortez, CO

Hwy 160 near Cortez, CO

Before I got to Four Corners I reluctantly passed Mesa Verde National Park which was high on my list of parks I wanted to visit. I had learned before I left for the trip that the iconic Cliff Palace was closed till May. Given that is what I wanted to see I just kinda sad panda faced my way past the exit. Onward as the forested mountains started to break for the desert I knew my scenery was about to change as I entered into the Ute reservation. The awe was just beginning.

Chimney Rock

Chimney Rock

Of course I knew that the actual Four Corners monument itself wasn’t all that impressive, but it was the penultimate portion of my trip. Every version I planned focused on being in all four states at once. It had been something I wanted to do since I was a kid, so this stop was a must. It would also be the only time I really had any knowledge I was in New Mexico. I did at least have a sign to prove it, ha ha!

New Mexico!

New Mexico!

In 4 states! CO, NM, AZ, UT. My 21st, 22nd, 23rd, and 24th state.

In 4 states! CO, NM, AZ, UT. My 21st, 22nd, 23rd, and 24th state.

So I paid my 5 American dollars to the Navajo people, fought the mud, got on all 4’s, walk around and took a picture towards each state and I was on my merry way. Underwhelming yes. Worth it? Absolutely!

As I fully entered Arizona the next destination was the Grand Canyon. It was going to be a little while, and this day and my time there was going to determine where the West would lead me on this fine day. I really enjoyed Hwy 160 (Navajo Trail) till I got there.

Elephant's Feet and a shiny head

Elephant’s Feet and a shiny head

 

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on May 2, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

