Come and went

Though I’ve updated my book posting/notes over the past 2 months I haven’t dropped a personal note/post. The move I spoke about has come and went, but it’s mostly been a physical, mental, and financial struggle since making the transition.

My spring overall was pretty incredible. I felt pretty free, enjoyed perhaps too many Reds games, traveled a lot either around the city or back home, and had a lot to look forward to. The only thing I was really impatient about was moving and finally going full-time at my job.

The move happened, but with my rare over spending during the events aforementioned I left myself in quite a financial pickle when the perfect place became available. Between general moving expenses and covering a hefty deposit it left me stressed to the max to make it happen. Once I made it through that I received news that my mom’s health took a turn for the worse. This led to some unexpected trips home including an expensive weekend outing. This only kept me backed against the wall even longer. Since moving downtown I haven’t been able to go out as much as I liked either because I haven’t been here, or the money hasn’t been there to back me up. I’m somewhat reluctant to say I’m about out of the woods, and have taken some strides to shore up at least my transportation options, but I’m feeling like the two months of stress have physically destroyed me.

I made a valiant effort to try a low-carb diet for the first time and had a lot of success with it over a month or so. My body began reacting negatively though to a point where I’m quite certain I had kidney stones. I’ve had them before so I knew the symptoms. It was different this time in a worse way so I had to stop with all the meat, cheese, iced tea, etc. After a week or so I starting feeling much better, but the weight I lost (around 20 lbs) came back seemingly overnight. I know the next step is getting back on the elliptical, but until I’m able to sleep properly, or physically feel better it seems futile. My back is hurting to the point I can’t sleep, and yesterday it was even radiating throughout my shoulders and neck. Seems rather serious. Oh sure, I finally got my ACA insurance, but I have zero time to use it since I can’t miss work. :-{

Speaking of work I was finally notified recently I will be going full-time! The official posting should come in the next few weeks, and I hope to be hired by Labor Day. Probably won’t happen (by Labor Day), but wishful thinking is I hope to actually get paid for a 3 day weekend.

So as I’m stuck inside writing today since the rooftop deck is under construction I have a lot of good things to be happy about, but I really hope I find some unexpected surprises to kinda lift this invisible weight off my shoulders. Maybe then I can get the visible weight off the rest of me.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on August 2, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

