The year of joy, the year of sacrifice

Moving to Cincinnati on a whim wasn’t the smartest short-term decision I’ve ever made, but as I exhale I know in the long-term it was right. Really right.

I couldn’t wait to got to Bockfest, watch the Opening Day game out, 2 goetta fests, and the list goes on and on. Today I’m missing the Germania Oktoberfest. Why? I’m off work, I have a way, yet money is rather tight. Eh, there is always next year. I’ll probably miss Zinzinnati Oktoberfest too. Nah nah, it’s OK. 🙂

Times were rough, and still aren’t GREAT, but I turned the corner at the end of June. I wasn’t happy returning to a traditional full-time job, but two months later I have a smile on my face, so I must be doing something right. I had to quit pedicabbing at first because of scheduling conflicts, and now I don’t think I could get myself back into the right physical and mental condition to take that on. My knee has been troubling me too off and on. I think I just did too much this past spring and it took its toll. I had to to survive. It’s crazy what you can do when you HAVE to.

As much as I love biking I want to walk more. I made that decision awhile back after I stopped pedicabbing, and realized how much I love Over-the-Rhine. Yes, Over-The-Rhine. For those of you who are unfamiliar with OTR, it’s an urban neighborhood bordering the north side of the downtown business district. For a better part of my life it was the slums, and extremely dangerous place. Nobody in their right mind want to drive through it let alone live there. It has changed, and I want to be part of the change. It’s a gorgeous place, and I can’t wait to move there early next year.

The year of joy though really comes down to first being subjected to all things nostalgic. I live and breathe Cincinnati everyday and it’s therapeutic. Most of all though one of the reasons I’ve missed many events here in Cincinnati is because, well, I’ve been ‘out of town’. You don’t know how much joy I’ve had being a reasonable distance away from my family. Whether it’s just quiet time at my parents house, one of my nieces or nephews birthday parties (or going biking with them), a near lightless night sky, or things such as local donuts, chicken, veggies or goetta. It just simply rules.

I’m in love with my life in Cincinnati.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on August 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I quite like looking through a post that will make people think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

Leave a Reply

