Minnesota Ironman Ride for Team LRF

(April 26, 2010) Wow, what a ride! I did it. Though I did my first 100 mile day last year I never did a organized century till yesterday, and despite the rainy, cold, and windy weather it was still gorgeous in Southern Minnesota. My morning was kind of a frantic start and it was hard getting motivated after sight seeing in the Twin Cities for a couple of days and enjoying some classic bar cuisine, the Jucy Lucy. One at the Matt’s Bar and the other at The Nook which was my favorite (more cheese is always better). After watching the weather report all week Sunday unfortunately ended up being the rainy day. It was dry though and 50 at the start and I was the only person in short sleeves. With overheating in training I figured it was the safest decision and I didn’t want to carry a backpack to place my shedded layers in. One other note is I didn’t want to cover up my Team LRF (Lymphoma Research Foundation) jersey. It was road and greased stained by the end, but it was for the best cause, my Mom.

The first half of the ride had a big tailwind or crosswind that allowed everyone to speed to the halfway point. For me, the rain started at mile 25 and didn’t end for the most part till about mile 70. It wasn’t heavy, but with the combination of wind and 50 degree weather it made it more annoying than difficult. By mile 70 I was shivering and actually caused alarm with some of the volunteers. It was looking grim, but the temperature rose 7 degrees after that stop, and topped out at 63 for the last 20 miles. By the end, I was looking like the smart one chugging against a headwind and hills with the short visit from the sun.

I didn’t watch my odometer those last 20 miles. It would have made it that much longer. All I knew from the map is that I wasn’t far once we went over I-35. Once we did, my legs found that last ounce of boost and passed bikes for the last few miles like I had fresh legs.

This was also the first ride I ever collected donations for. When it comes down to it, that is why I finished. When other people give their hard earned money towards a cause I felt I had to keep my end of the bargain. I seen several riders take the SAG wagon home to avoid those last brutal 20 miles. Your dollars and the fight I know my Mom is going through made pushing pedals an afterthought.

Thank you!

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on March 25, 2010, in biking. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great job! I was right there with you…it was a hard-earned 100 miles.

Leave a Reply

