Indy 500 (8)

Growing up in Indiana resulted in being surrounded my corn most of my life. Though my family wasn’t sports fanatics in any way it was a long tradition Memorial Day weekend to cookout and at first the only option out in the middle of nowhere was listening to “the race” on the radio; usually from my Dad’s truck radio.

Of all of the traditions and hobbies I had in my childhood the Indy 500 is the only one I still hold near and dear to my heart.  It’s so rich in history and once you actually watch a race live in the stands, it pulls you back every year.  It’s not so much to me about the cars and drivers anymore, but watching it all slowly evolve over the years and live through another year adding yet another piece of history to the books.

Did you know the first races held out at the Speedway were bicycles.  I find it funny every year I ride my bike out there.  Pro tip: it’s the best way to get to and from the track.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 11, 2009, in biking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

