1,000 (9)

Back in 2006 I biked over 2,500 miles and I set out to beat that mark the two following years only to fail miserably.  Used to be when I was in Indiana the biking association there held a challenge to do 500 miles in May.  The first season trying to that I failed with only like 10 miles to go when I blew a spoke and it went through my tire.  D’oh.  At less than 3 hours before midnight, I walked my bike home a few blocks to home and retired for the night.  Achieving that goal was more about trying to get a head start on the numbers and hit a 1,000 by the end of May.  This year, my goal was to have 500 by May 1st, and then finally go for the 500 mile goal in May to ultimately finally hit that 1,000 mile goal by May 31st.

I was diligent that month and achieved it with actually a few days to spare. The most important thing of that mark is that is gave me a boost to strive again for 3,000 miles.  Little did I know what getting a fast start would lead too at that moment.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 11, 2009, in biking, Just me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

