The Squeezettes (5)

I had a love affair with live bands ever since I went to wedding receptions as a kid.  The gear, the big speakers, the energy, the coolness, and the spirit; pure beauty.

I was denied as a kid to go see all my favorite bands that all the cool kids were going to and I my first I felt was done right when I seen Sir Paul McCartney in Cincinnati in 1993. That night changed me.

While living in Fort Wayne, IN I started checking out local bands and moved to Indianapolis to work more closely with them to promote, write, and finally to capture everything about that essence that I always admired.

Unfortunately I learned all to well that getting to close to that energy is like flying to close to the sun.  The attitudes and drama surrounding it will turn you sour and leave you fleeing.  Part of my decision to come to Milwaukee was to escape all that I was known for in Indy and get a fresh start in Milwaukee.  At the end of last year I became gravitated towards a band and tried to pull away, but it was too big of a force to win.  Her siren pulled me in, and left me trying to salvage what life I had left by being burned again.

The Squeezettes are an amazing band with a trio of accordions, a tuba, and drums that really can spark a party.  They are all about fun, but there is always more under the surface, and I’m here to look under the rug for a moment, and once again leave it there.  Because of the heartache it turned me on the better, but longer path (and higher road) that I’m on today.

P.S. You never wrote me back.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 10, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

