Manicured scarves

I’m a romantic. When I’m with the right person and my guards come down I can be down right sick with mushy, but creative ideas. There is certainly beauty, grace, and utter romance about ice skating and up till last winter when I passed the rink near work I had never seen ice skaters in person. I’ll have you know that I couldn’t stay and watch though as it brought me to tears; the winter hats, mittens, manicured scarves, and then the hand holding across the glistening ice. It put me in the mood for winter which was a good thing considering the bad one we had but it reinforced or aggravated that lonliness I had encountered especially after moving here. I wanted what was out on that ice, the feeling.

I’m not sure what motivated me to go down there again after riding a bus all day (see Gravity post below) but this time I observed and took pictures without running away or weeping.

I told myself that this year I was going to buy skates and take a chance of trying this winter ritual but won’t since they offer my kind of deals for the commit-o-phobe like me, rentals. But unless somebody can help me perfect my scarf, I’ll probably stick to spectating.

One other feature is that the rink has its very own zamboni too! That in itself is a reason to spend a holiday evening at Red Arrow Park.

About jeffbedel

Indiana native that moved to Cincinnati in January 2012. Former trivia host, beer snob, foodie, non-conformist.

Posted on December 2, 2008, in Just me, new places and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

